Edelweiss Award 

Norma Roenicke  2019 Edelweiss Recipient

Each year, the Frankenmuth Women's Club presents the Edelweiss Award to a Frankenmuth woman who has made a significant contribution to the community in the areas of education, civic development and/or social improvement.

We are proud to honor these local women who work to make our town such a wonderful place to live.

Edelweiss Award  Winners


  • Irene Zeilinger (2000)

  • Judith Zehnder-Keller (2001)

  • Norene Kern (2002)

  • Ruth Kroepel (2003)

  • Joan Kuhne (2004)

  • Pat Arvilla (2005)

  • Elva Kehrberg (2006)

  • Sharill McNally (2007)

  • Lynn Zuellig (2008)

  • Sally VanNess (2009)

  • Mary McEwen (2010)

  • Laurajeanne Kehn (2011)

  • Karen Zehnder (2012)

  • Mary Ellen Simon (2013)

  • Linda Howard (2014)

  • Ruth Abraham Baker (2015)

  • Gretna Van Fleet (2016)

  • Susan Piesko (2017)

  • Nancy Birdsall (2018)

  • Norma Roenicke (2019)

The 2019 Edelweiss Award has be postponed until 2020.

Nominations for 2020 will be accepted at a later date. 

Previously submitted nominations may be updated, rather than entirely resubmitted, by contacting a committee member for a copy of the original form. Posthumous recognition will also be considered. The recipient will be announced in April and formally recognized at the Club meeting on May 2, 2019. A donation of $500.00 will be presented to the Greater Frankenmuth Area Community Foundation in the recipient's honor, designated to the cause of her choice. A plaque commenting the Edelweiss Award Winner will be on display at the Wickson Memorial Library. 


Download the Edelweiss Award Nomination form here. Additional nomination forms are available at The Wickson Memorial Library and The Frankenmuth Chamber of Commerce.  Questions can be directed to: Ruth Wallace, Chairman, 704-408-1505.


Copyright  2018    Frankenmuth Women's Club 

P.O. Box 83
Frankenmuth, Michigan 48734.